Time in France

Bonjour from France. My flight to London Heathrow (arrived May 2), then on to Toulouse France went as planned (other than the Heathrow sprint that I had to make to get on the bus to my airplane). Currently I am on a train to Bayonne France from Toulouse.

My time in Toulouse was highlighted by my lunch/dinner at a street side patisserie. Finding vegetarian food is not easy, so I ended up with a squash burger with eggplant and microwaved lettuce and tomato, a fruit tart, and a Coke Zero – all for €10.5. And to top it off, they were giving away free French baguettes, hot out of the oven. My lucky day! So I broke the baguette into 1/3rds, and will enjoy it for breakfast for three mornings. Today I had a 1/3 with a banana.

Toulouse is know for its aeronautical engineering industry and is home to airplane manufacturer, Airbus. It is surrounded by the Pyrenees Mountains, snow-capped and rocky, which I have continued to experience on my train ride. Amazing views.

Today (May 3) I will spend the night in Bayonne. Tomorrow (Thursday) I will take the train to St. Jean Pied de Port, where I will stay in a hostel before I begin my pilgrimage on the Camino on Friday, May 5. I’m almost there.

Feel free to send me comments on my blog. I understand that the May 1 blog with the photos was aligned with photos to the left and text to the right – I’m still learning how to create this blog on my phone. I don’t have photos today but should start having images once on the El Camino de Santiago. Au revoir.


Comments

One response to “Time in France”

  1. Susan Avatar
    Susan

    Lisa, we are excited for you. Please add Tom to your blog at TryanMD68@gmail.com. We look for to each entry. Susan

Leave a comment